Artichoke Dip with Fresh Peppers

I love it when friends cook for me and I discover delicious dishes which I would otherwise never have tried.

If you’re thinking, “Well, I don’t like artichokes/peppers” don’t stop reading! This dip may change your mind. Ordinarily I’m not a fan of artichokes or peppers, so last Saturday as I was watching this being made, I didn’t pay too much attention, thinking that I’d never want to make it anyway. But once I’d tasted it’s creamy, artichokey goodness, I couldn’t stop eating.

Ingredients:

400g canned artichoke hearts (I used artichoke hearts in garlic oil)
8-10 tablespoons light mayonnaise
5 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese
3/4 teaspoon onion salt
2-3 peppers

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 190c.
  2. Drain the artichoke hearts and chop into small pieces (the size does not matter too much, it just depends on how “chunky” you want the dip to be, I tried to get the artichoke into 3cm-ish pieces)
  3. Place the artichokes into a casserole dish or anything with a large surface area to spread the dip over.
  4. Add the mayonnaise, 4 tablespoons of the parmesan and the onion salt. Mix well.
  5. Level out the mixture in the dish and sprinkle the remaining parmesan over the top.
  6. Bake in the oven for about 25 mins or until the cheese has melted and the top of the dip is slightly browned.
  7. Whilst the dip is in the oven wash and deseed the peppers. And slice into strips (you may want to make the pepper strips a little wider than I have done here so that it’s easier to scoop up the dip).
You can enjoy this artichoke dip warm or cold. Now I’m just waiting for summer to come so I can enjoy more summery Mediterranean foods!


When you read the recipe you’ll notice that the dip is baked in the oven. I thought it was weird to have warm dip, but it actually creates a nice texture when eaten with cool, fresh peppers.


Leave a Reply

