Lemon and White Chocolate Macarons

For the 6 months I have been suffering from an obsession with macarons. And particularly an obsession with getting the perfect macarons. In my last post I had to cunningly (or perhaps not so cunningly :p) disguise the fact that the macaron shells were not perfectly smooth, but this time I was delighted that there was no need.

Ingredients:

350g icing sugar
250g ground almonds
215g egg whites
150g caster sugar
Half teaspoon gel food colouring of your choice

Method:
Preheat the oven to 160c.

  1. Whisk the egg whites until semi whipped, add 150g caster sugar and the food colouring. Whisk until you have a stiff and glossy meringue mixture.
  2. Place the icing sugar and the almond powder in a blender. Blitz and then sieve this mixture into a bowl to ensure that you have a very fine, lump-free powder.
  3. Incorporate the dry ingredients and the food colouring into the meringue mixture. Use a spatula to cut and fold the mixture until is smooth, shiny and ribbon-like.
  4. Fill a piping bag with the macaron mix and pipe the macarons onto a lined baking tray. Leave the macarons to dry for at least 20mins at room temperature and then bake in the preheated oven for 10-15mins.
  5. Once cooled remove the shells from the baking paper and pipe filling onto half of the shells before topping with another shell.
For the lemon and white chocolate filling:
140g butter
120g icing sugar
100g melted white chocolate
A squeeze of lemon juice
  1. Cream the butter and then mix in the icing sugar.
  2. Add the white chocolate and the lemon juice to taste.
  3. Mix well.

7 thoughts on “Lemon and White Chocolate Macarons

  1. what INCREDIBLE looking macaroons. I’ve never made them myself – I don’t consider myself delicate enough. However, I really must eventually give them a pop. Yours are perfect, clearly.

    • Hehe, thanks. There have been many a failure along the way. Definitely give it a go, it’s so rewarding when they come out right :)

  2. These look pretty and elegant. I love color, purple is the best color. I always wanted to make macaroons on my own, but I don’t think I could pull it off.

  3. Pingback: Eton Mess Diamond Jubilee Macarons « Almost Always Hungry

  4. Pingback: Diamond Jubilee Macarons: Brandy Snaps « Almost Always Hungry

Leave a Reply

