Lunch for 1: Chorizo and Egg Salad

These days I more often find myself making lunch for one. I go for a driving lesson in the morning, then to the gym, and by the time I get home it’s past 1:30/2pm and the rest of the family has already eaten. So whilst on the treadmill I’ve begun deciding what I’d like for lunch, buying the ingredients for one (sometimes a bit more ‘cos running is hungry work and the bus is always late!) on the way back and serving myself a quick and tasty lunch at home.

In homage to my new lunchtime routine I’m going to try a new series of posts for those who lunch alone (#foreveralone :p); maybe you work from home (as I sorta do now), or maybe you are enjoying the peace and quiet of having the kitchen to yourself (often my sentiment!) but of course you can always increase the portions to accommodate more people. And don’t forget to let me know what you think!

Ingredients:

60g new baby potatoes, halved
1 egg
50g chorizo, sliced
1/2 tablespoon sherry vinegar
1/2 tablespoon chopped parsley
2 slices of garlic, diced
Mixed salad leaves

Method:

  1. Cook potatoes in a pan of boiling water until soft and in another pan cook the egg until soft-boiled.
  2. Fry chorizo slices for 1-2 minutes until they begin to get crispy. Remove from the pan and set aside, reserving the oil from the chorizo in the pan.
  3. Add garlic to the pan and cook gently for 1 minute.
  4. Remove pan from the heat and mix in the sherry vinegar and parsley. Toss the potatoes and chorizo in the pan until mixed with the chorizo oil.
  5. Lay a bed of salad leaves onto a place, add the potatoes and chorizo. Shell and quarter the egg and add to the salad.
  6. Enjoy!

Disclaimer:

– You can probably see from the photos that I slightly overcooked the egg. Boiling eggs are really the bane of my life, I can never get it right. My problem is that I’m too impatient, or I forget about them. So set a timer and don’t boil them too vigorously, no matter how hungry you are!

– I would have liked a bit more oil to flavour the salad, you can probably see it looks a bit dry. Next time I would probably toss the salad in a drizzle of olive oil, or maybe fry the chorizo for a bit longer so more of the oil comes out. *not tried and tested yet though*

Leave a Reply

