Churros y chocolate

When I went to Wahaca for lunch last month I was bitterly disappointed not to have enough stomach space for the churros y chocolate. So, logically, I decided to make them at home and, continuing with the Latin American theme of my last post, I thought I’d share them with you (obviously when I say “share”, I mean the photos, ‘cos the churros were devoured within mere seconds of being fried).

The first time I had churros was at Disney Land when I was about 7. In true American fashion they were HUGE (at least it seemed that way :p), and I can remember the light airy pastry which just disappeared in the mouth, still warm and covered with crunchy cinnamon sugar. Oh man, now I want more churros!

Ingredients:

220ml water
85g unsalted butter
2 eggs
105g flour
A pinch of salt
Vegetable oil for deep frying

A large bar of your favourite dark/milk chocolate, melted
Cinnamon and sugar mixture (the ratio depends entirely on your taste)

Method:

  1. Cut the butter into small pieces.
  2. Place the water, salt and butter into a saucepan and bring to the boil. Once boiling, remove from the heat and mix in the sifted flour.
  3. Return to the heat and mix until the mixture no longer sticks to the bottom of the pan.
  4. Remove from the heat and allow to cool slightly before adding the eggs one by one until a smooth and shiny pastry forms.
  5. Place the mixture into a piping bag with a medium sized star nozzle.
  6. Fill a heavy-based saucepan about one  third full with vegetable oil and heat to 170c (or until a small drop of the pastry browns within 30 seconds).
  7. Pipe the churros into the hot oil, using scissors to cut the pastry to the length you want. Fry for 3-4 minutes until crispy and golden brown.
  8. Remove from the oil using a slotted spoon and drain on a piece of kitchen paper before rolling in the cinnamon and sugar mixture.
  9. Serve whilst still warm, accompanied by a pot of melted chocolate.

8 thoughts on “Churros y chocolate

  1. Hi ! So I am yet to invest in a pastry bag–so in the meantime could I put the filling in a ziptop bag and pipe it into the oil?

    • Hello! I have to admit I’m no expert on making churros…but I don’t see why you couldn’t use a ziptop bag. The only problem I could possibly foresee is that the corner of a ziptop bag is at 90 degrees, and the nozzle might not fit nicely. It is possible to make a piping bag out of baking paper. I’ll be making some of these next week for a cupcake post so I can post a tutorial then. Or alternatively you can buy disposable piping bags which can be found quite easily online. :) Hope that helps!

      • thanks…I iwll play around with them myself. I am looking forward to your cupcake post. I myself am making cupcakes tomorrow !

    • Here’s a little secret…I was too intimidated to try them at home too…so I enlisted the help of my Peruvian chef friend who has asbestos-fingers, nerves of steel and much experience with deep frying! hehe. And you know, it wasn’t that scary :)

  2. Pingback: Best of the Foodie Blogs: Ten at Ten (13) | Foodies 100

  3. Pingback: How to Make a Piping Bag from Baking Paper « Almost Always Hungry

Leave a Reply

